On April 30, 2013, the Texas State Legislature will designate the 2013 and 2014 Texas State Artists in a proclamation ceremony at the Capitol.  These positions, including state poet laureate, state musician, state two-dimensional artist and state three-dimensional artist, will be filled by one-year appointments. The eight appointees named for 2013and 2014 were selected for years of excellence and dedicated commitment to the arts in Texas. Please refer to the Current State Artist page for more details on these remarkable individuals.

Texas State Artists represent the best of Texas’ rich and diverse artistic community.  These individuals inspire others through their unique creative expression. This designation is our state’s highest recognition for excellence in the arts.

The nomination process is managed by Texas Commission on the Arts (TCA).  A call is issued to the citizens of  Texas to submit nominations in any of the four categories, and self-nominations are encouraged.  TCA reviews all nominations and develops a list of finalists for submission to the Texas Poet Laureate, State Musician and State Artist Committee. The committee, composed of members appointed by the governor, lieutenant governor and speaker of the Texas House of Representatives, make the final selections.

The nomination process is currently closed.  It will open up again in the fall of 2014.

For additional information about this program, please refer to the Texas State Artist FAQ.

For lists of  previous Texas State Artists, please see the sidebar.